Version Française

CanLink : a linked data project for Canadian theses

Can Link - a linked data project for Canadian theses is a proof of concept project of the Digital Projects Working Group of the Canadian Linked Data Initiative - Digital Projects Working Group of the Canadian Linked Data Initiative. Its goal is to increase the discoverability of Canadian theses and dissertations by leveraging the power of linked data to surface unexpected connections and relationships. Participating institutions are: University of British Columbia, University of Alberta, Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Queens University, University of Toronto, McGill University, Université de Montréal, Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Q: Who is involved in the Can Link project and how is it funded?

A: Can Link involves members of the Canadian Linked Data Initiative Digital Projects Working Group (University of British Columbia, University of Alberta, Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Queens University, University of Toronto, McGill UniversityUniversité de Montréal, Robert Warren (CWRC/Muninn)). In addition, records have been provided by Memorial University of Newfoundland. The University of Alberta Libraries and the Young Canada Works program are funding a summer student position in 2017 to carry out the bulk of the technical work.

Q: What data is included in the project?

A: The data included are subsets of records for dissertations and theses that have a publicly available digital object. Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada are a subset of those found in the Theses Canada Portal.

Q: Can I contribute records to the project?

A: Yes! The goal of the project was to start with a small set of records so we could refine and document our processes, and then ask others to join in! If you would like to submit records we’d love to hear from you!

Q: Who can I contact for further information?

A: For further information on the project or to get involved, please email Sharon Farnel (sharondotfarnel at ualbertadotca) or Rob Warren (rwarren at muninn-projectdotorg).

Q: What is the long term plan for the project?

A: This initial phase is to pilot and document processes and workflows, as well as potential infrastructure. We are working with the Canadian Linked Data Initiative and other research groups on a long-term, sustainable plan for the project to continue to grow and thrive. More details will be announced as they become finalized.

Q: Can I download the data?

A: Data dumps are available for download at http://canlink.library.ualberta.ca/downloads/, the code is available for download at https://github.com/cldi/CanLink and a full description at https://datahub.io/dataset/can-link.

Q: What can I do with the data?

A: The data is made available under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial license.

Q: What formats is the thesis data available as?

A: The data is available using linked open data principles using both HTTP content negotiation and appending extensions to the URI (.rdf, .nt, .ttl, .json-ld). Additionally, thesis data can be exported to bibtex and ris formats using both HTTP content negotiation and appending extensions (.bibtex and .ris).

Q: Are the thesis full-text available as part of the dataset?

A: Some thesis entries have a frbr:manifestation node that links to a pdf version.

Q: What ontology is used to encode the thesis data?

A: The ontology is composed from a number of other ontologies, including FRBR, the bibliography ontology, schema.org, CWRC Genres, Library of Congress Languages, Library of Congress Subject Headings, Bibliothèque nationale de France Subject Headings, Canadian Subject Headings, W3 Provenance Ontology, Dublin Core Terms, Library of Congress Relators, Friend of a Friend Ontology, and DOAP.

Documentation for the ontology is located here.

English Version

CanaLien : un projet de données liées pour les thèses canadiennes

Can Link - un projet de données liées pour les thèses canadiennes est un projet de preuve de concept du groupe de travail sur les projets numériques de la Initiative sur les données liées au Canada - Groupe de travail sur les projets numériques. Son objectif est d'accroître la découverte des thèses canadiennes et dissertations en tirant parti de la puissance des données liées. Les institutions participantes sont: L'Université de Colombie britannique, L'Université de l'Alberta, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Université Queens, Université de Toronto, Université McGill, Université de Montréal, Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve.

Q: Qui est impliqué dans le projet CanaLien et comment est-il financé?

A: CanaLien implique des membres du Groupe de travail sur les projets numériques de l'Initiative canadienne sur les données liées (Université de Colombie Britannique, Université de l'Alberta, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Université Queens, Université de Toronto, Université McGillUniversité de Montréal, Robert Warren (CWRC/Muninn)). En outre, des records ont été fourni par l' Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Les bibliothèques de L'Université de l'Alberta et le programme Young Canada Works financent un étudiant d'été position en 2017 pour mener à bien la majeure partie du travail technique.

Q: Quelles données sont incluses dans le projet?

A: Les données incluses sont des sous-ensembles d'enregistrements pour des dissertations et des thèses qui ont un objet numérique accessible au public. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada est un sous-ensemble de ceux trouvés dans le Portail Thèses Canada .

Q: Puis-je contribuer des records au projet?

A: Oui! L'objectif du projet était de commencer par un petit ensemble d'enregistrements afin nous pourrions affiner et documenter nos processus, puis demander aux autres de participer! Si vous souhaitez soumettre des enregistrements, nous aimerions avoir de vos nouvelles!

Q: À qui puis-je contacter pour plus d'informations?

A: Pour plus d'informations sur le projet ou pour participer, envoyez nous un courriel: Sharon Farnel (sharondotfarnel at ualbertadotca) or Rob Warren (rwarren at muninn-projectdotorg).

Q: Quel est le plan à long terme pour le projet?

A: Cette phase initiale consiste à piloter et à documenter les processus et les flux de bien que des infrastructures potentielles. Nous travaillons avec les liens Initiative de données et d'autres groupes de recherche sur un plan durable à long terme pour que le projet continue de croître et de prospérer. Plus de détails seront ont annoncé leur finalisation.

Q: Puis-je télécharger les données?

A: Les décharges de données sont disponibles pour téléchargement à http://canlink.library.ualberta.ca/downloads/, le code est disponible pour téléchargement àhttps://github.com/cldi/CanLink et une description complète à https://datahub.io/dataset/can-link.

Q: Que puis-je faire avec les données?

A: Les données sont disponibles sous une CC Attribution Non-Commercial license.

Q: Quels formats les données de thèse sont-elles disponibles?

A: Les données sont disponibles en utilisant des principes de données ouvertes liées à l'aide de HTTP négociation de contenu et ajout d'extensions à l'URI (.rdf, .nt, .ttl, .json-ld). De plus, les données de thèse peuvent être exportées en format bibtex et ris utilisant à la fois la négociation de contenu HTTP et les extensions ajoutées (.bibtex et .ris).

Q: Le texte intégral de la thèse est-il disponible dans le cadre de l'ensemble de données?

A: Certaines entrées de thèse comportent un noeud frbr: manifestation qui relie une version pdf.

Q: Quelle ontologie est utilisée pour coder les données de thèse?

A: L'ontologie est composée d'un certain nombre d'autres ontologies, y compris FRBR, BIBO, schema.org, CWRC Genres, Library of Congress Languages, Library of Congress Subject Headings, Bibliothèque nationale de France Subject Headings, Canadian Subject Headings, W3 Provenance Ontology, Dublin Core Terms, Library of Congress Relators, Friend of a Friend Ontology, and DOAP.

L'ontologie est documenté ici here.